Skip to content


Students

Please post your bios, with a link to your website or public blog if you have one.


6 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Amy says

    Hi everyone,

    I’m a 4th year public health doctoral student here and also work part-time for a few professors on various public health projects, and do some side evaluation-related consulting jobs. The work I’ve done over the past few years has always focused on some aspect of community engagement and community empowerment through the use of media and technology. I used to work for an organization that uses film/media to promote health and strengthen communities in refugee camps, and also did a lot of work in Harlem developing and implementing a Harlem-based health information and social networking website. Right now I’m interested in the food justice social movement, and the role of young people, youth activism, and social media within this movement. I also enjoy going to kung fu, hiking and figuring out where to travel to next.

  2. Sonia K. González says

    Hi Folks,

    I am launching my career as a public health researcher informed by 18 years as working with difficult to reach and vulnerable youth in Austin, Texas and NYC. I began my career as an Americorps volunteer in Austin, TX serving run away and throw away youth. The population shifted from being largely LGBTQ youth who were kicked out because they came out to their parents to being primarily drug-using and drug abusing youth who lived on the streets, though they were not mutually exclusive.

    This experience was extremely formative. I was only 17 years old when I was in this role, and I learned about health education, peer education specifically with hidden populations, community health, partnerships, and working with participants to formulate programming. I drew from these lessons later as I earned a MPH and then ran peer education, and other (mainly) HIV prevention, programs in areas most infected/affected in NYC – namely, in the South Bronx, Central and South Brooklyn, and in East Harlem (there are more, but those are the main one’s). Most of this work is with young people of color from 14-18 years old and I’ve stayed connected to many youth in a mentorship capacity – most of them are in their early 20s now.

    I’m now a public health consultant working for the Ford Foundation essentially as a GRA providing background pieces for the Sexuality Reproductive Health and Human Rights Division and for Voces Latinas as their evaluator and serve on the board for the Red Hook Initiative.

    Outside of public health, I enjoy martial arts and triathalons.

  3. Kiran says

    Hi All,
    I’m a second year doctoral student in the MCD (molecular, cellular and developmental) Biology program. I’m based at City College at the lab of Dr. Adrian Rodriguez-Contreras where I study brain development particularly in the auditory system, using rodents (rats and mice) as models. I’m from Trinidad and Tobago and have been studying biology since I was 10 years old. However, I’m also a novice musician (guitar and drums) and artist (performing and visual) and fancy tickling the right side of my brain from time to time in new and interesting ways. I used to be an avid gamer and technophile but graduate school has absorbed most of my time. I’m always looking for the most efficient way to do the next thing that needs to be done and this is one of the roots of my technophilia..

  4. ria banerjee says

    Hi — A brief bio:

    I’m a doctoral student in the GC English Department. I’ve been teaching at City College and other CUNY campuses for the last 5 years, in English and now also in Film Studies.
    I also work in the International Office at the GC. I used to work in our library, and in my undergrad institution’s library as well; there’s a small part of me that thinks I should have become a librarian after all (#alt-ac shoutout!). In undergrad, I was a double major with Anthropology, and one of my regrettably-shelved-for-now ideas is an ethnomusicology project on the Bauls, folk musicians from West Bengal, India.

    I don’t do much else besides read storybooks, teach classes, and watch Netflix from my couch.

  5. Janice says

    Hi, below is my brief bio.
    I will post my project ideas in a separate blog.

    I have over two decades of experience in private and city government agencies, each devoted to improving the living circumstances and livelihood of New Yorkers. For the past ten years I have engaged regulators, practitioners, advocates, and consumers in the identification, assessment, review, and development of services to meet public mental hygiene needs. My work has brought me in close contact with consumers facing mental health crises, the contexts of their communities and environmental influences, and the systems designed to provide support.

    In my current role at the NYC DOHMH I work in partnership with consumers, families, advocates, and providers to ensure that all mental hygiene services in New York City meet the highest quality standards for the over 450,000 people in New York City who suffer from mental health and chemical dependency disorders, and those with mental retardation and developmental disabilities. My work is devoted to assessing and contributing to the development of accessible, high quality health care that is both efficient in its use of resources, as well as effective in promoting health and reducing health disparities.

    Blog you soon!

    Janice

  6. Christina says

    Hi Everyone,

    Here is my website I made through opencuny: http://christinanadler.com/
    It has my bio and CV and all that other stuff. See you in class.

    Chrissy



Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.



css.php
Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message
Skip to toolbar